Jump Aboard the Transplant Waiting List

I was sent a letter yesterday to day that I’m now on the kidney transplant waiting list. Although I’ll hopefully be getting a kidney donated from my mom, this serves as useful back-up, and means I can be called in for a transplant at 24 hours notice, at any time, if a good quality kidney turns up. Chances are though, the current flawed ‘opt-in’ system being what it is, this wouldn’t be for at least 18 months, by which time I’ll hopefully have had a live donation.

Perhaps more importantly though, my addition to the transplant waiting list offers that most British of reasons to celebrate; the joining of a queue.

Leave a Reply

